The Policy North Election Results Report

The battle between Labour and the Conservatives for seats across the North ended last night with Labour retaining control of key targets such as Bishop Auckland, Darlington, Sedgefield and Workington. 

The biggest surprise was the defeat of James Wharton, the original Northern Powerhouse Minister and MP for Stockton South with a shock Conservative loss to Labour. Wharton's 5,056 majority turned into a 888 majority for Labour in a defeat few saw coming, not least the new Labour MP Dr Paul Williams. 

In contrast Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland stood out as the rare Conservative gain from Labour in the North East with Simon Clarke winning the seat with a majority of 1,020 votes.

In County Durham the Conservatives piled on thousands votes but were outstripped by Labour across the board. Bishop Auckland was the Conservatives one near miss with a Labour majority of just 502.

Just months after electing the first Conservative MP since 1924, Copeland remained a Conservative seat with Trudy Harrison retaining the seat, however neighbouring Workington remained with the Labour party. 

In the marginal seat of Carlisle, John Stevenson held his seat for the Conservatives, increasing his vote by 5.6% from 2015 whilst Liberal Democrat leader Tim Farron saw his majority cut from 8,172 to 777 after a recount in Westmorland & Lonsdale. 

The Conservatives also gained Southport from the Liberal Democrats and Leeds North West became a Labour seat with large numbers of new voter registrations in the student heartland resulting in the defeat of Lib Dem Greg Mulholland.  Leeds ends the night with five Labour and three Conservative MPs.  Turnout figures were high indicating a surge in young people voting.

In Northumberland, the four seats remained in the same hands with Ian Lavery holding Wansbeck with a decisive tally of 24,338 votes and Ronnie Campbell securing 23,770 votes in Blyth Valley with a 67.1% turnout. 

Berwick remained a Conservative seat with the vote increasing to 22,145 from 16,603 in 2015 and in Hexham Guy Opperman ended a log count by securing 54% of the vote - the highest Conservative vote share in Hexham since 1959.

The following seats changed hands:

Bury North Con>Lab

Colne Valley Con>Lab

Crewe and Nantwich Con>Lab

Derby North Con>Lab

High Peak Con>Lab

Keighley Con>Lab

Stockton South Con>Lab

Warrington South Con>Lab

Weaver Vale Con>Lab

Stoke-on-Trent South Lab>Con

Mansfield Lab>Con

Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland Lab>Con

North East Derbyshire Lab>Con

Walsall North Lab>Con

Leeds North West LD>Lab

Southport LD>Con